Layered Jars

I realize that this post would have been a little more useful to you prior to Christmas, however I think this is a great gift idea for any season/occasion. I have seen plenty of these layered jars recently on the web from here to here to here. With all of this inspiration I was tempted to try them out. This Christmas I made hot chocolate jars for the kiddies in my fam and my sister & brother-in-law and a pancake jar for a holiday party host.

These don’t have to be Christmas specific gifts by any means, that’s why I love them. They can make useful gifts for all occasions: religions holidays (Easter, Hanukah, etc.), birthday gift, New Years gift, thank you gift, hostess gift and the list goes on. It’s all about how you decorate them. And there are loads of options for what to fill the jar with as well. I chose pancake mix and hot chocolate, but you can do soup mix, cookie mix, brownie mix, etc.

Recipe: Blueberry Pecan Pancakes in a Jar

From this site (I doubled it because my jar was so large).

Layer the following in your jar:

* 2 and 1/2 cups flour
* 2 Tablespoon baking powder
* 1 teaspoon salt
* 1/2 cup brown sugar
* 1 cup dried blueberries
* 1 cup pecans

In a medium bowl, combine all of the white ingredients. Pour into the jar. Pack the layer down (I used a large ladle with a bent neck) Add the brown sugar to the jar and pack it down. Add the dried blueberries and pack it down. Add the pecans.

Instructions to attach to jar: (I attached my instructions after I took a photo – oops!)

* 1 jar Blueberry Pancake Mix
* 2 and 1/2 cups milk
* 2 large eggs – beaten
* 4 Tablespoons vegetable or canola oil

In a large bowl, mix the milk, egg and oil. Add the pancake mix to the wet ingredients and and mix until just combined.

Heat a skillet or frying pan to medium-high and give it generous coating of cooking spray. Dollop batter in 1/4 cup amounts to make each pancake. Cook until edges are dry and middles are filled with bubbles. Flip and cook the other side to golden brown (about 2 or 3 minutes per side).

Serve with butter and maple syrup. Enjoy!

Makes 8 Servings

Blueberry Pecan Pancakes in a Jar

Hot Chocolate Jars:

For the hot chocolate jars I eye-balled it. You can always do a hot cocoa jar that requires you to follow a recipe of cocoa, cornstarch, powdered milk, etc. I decided to buy a pre-made dark hot chocolate and white hot chocolate mix from Balk Barn and make a simpler jar version. Once I had poured my hot chocolate powder in I topped all of the jars differently – with skor chocolate pieces or chocolate chips or hersey kisses and all with mini marshmallows. Just let the recipient know how much mix to add to hot water – in this case 3 tbs. for one mug of water.

White Hot Chocolate + Dark Hot Chocolate + Skor Chocolate Pieces + White Mini Marshmallows = Hot Chocolate Layered Jar

Now for the decorating. This is where you can personalize the jar and make it occasion specific. I opted for Christmas ribbon and scrapbooking stickers. I hot glue-gunned all of the decorations to the jars.

One thought on “Layered Jars

  1. LOVE THIS!!! Thank you for my lovely jar! I like how it matched my home decor…very personable! Question – did you decorate jar first or add ingredients first??

Leave a Reply

