Rhubarb Pie

Rhubarb Pie

Another dessert post today…Mmm.

I was grocery shopping yesterday when the rhubarb in the produce section caught my attention.  I was struck with rhubarb pie cravings and decided it can’t be all that tricky to make.  I assumed two bunches would be sufficient (it was exact, phew). And lucky for me I found a ridiculously easy recipe at my fav recipe website: allrecipes.com. You can find the link here.  I used Tenderflake’s pre-made pie shells as I didn’t have time to make the crust from scratch. This recipe is as basic as it gets: chop rhubarb, mix sugar and flour, fill pie shell, top with other shell, bake.

I was happy with the way the pie turned out. Next time around I think I’ll do half rhubarb/half strawberries and reduce the sugar as necessary. Also – I need some more pie baking practice, this one turned out a little sloppy looking. Although, it does give it more of an authentic “homemade” look.

Pre-made pie crust: makes life so much easier

Fresh rhubarb rinsed and ready for chopping

Ingredients: Tenderflake pie shells, flour, sugar, chopped rhubarb. Easy peasy!

Coat the bottom with flour/sugar mixture

The recipe says to fill shell with rhubarb and then top with remaining sugar and flour, but I thought it was best to mix the rhubarb and sugar/flour and then fill the shell

Top with butter, spaced randomly

Place on the top shell and make slits so filling doesn't explode

Bake at 450 F for 15 minutes at bottom of oven and then move to middle rack for 40-45 minutes at 350 F

The edge was browning quickly so I covered with foil (just the edges)

Out of the oven

Ready to serve

 

3 thoughts on “Rhubarb Pie

  1. Wow, that looks so delicious and so incredibly easy to make! Strawberries would definitely be good in this as well, to have more of the sweet/tart flavour.

    can’t wait to try this out.

Leave a comment